Page 1 of 1

Moving database without backing up

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 6:54 am
by damien28173
Hey,
I decided today that my computer needs to be formatted. I have 2 hard drives with 1 being partitioned into 3 drives. the 2nd is the one I want my database on which is fine and formatted, I dragged and dropped my pt3 file (which also has my postgreSQL file in it) into my 2nd drive, the transfer is going thru without issue, but my question is will it work having been changed in location without being installed and reinstalled? Will I be able to just create a shortcut to it and all is good in the world? or am I looking at a massive backup and format process which will take hrs?
thx for ur feedback.


I know this isnt the usual way to move one of these but it has worked for me several times in the past for games ect.
Your thoughts?

Re: Moving database without backing up

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 7:10 am
by damien28173
Unable to connect to PostgreSQL database: PT3_2010_08_19_080913
Reason: Unable to login to database (PT3_2010_08_19_080913). Reason: could not connect to server: Connection refused (0x0000274D/10061) Is the server running on host "???" and accepting TCP/IP connections on port 5432?



This is the error I get when I try to launch PT3 now.
any help u guys could offer would be much appreciated

Re: Moving database without backing up

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 9:25 am
by kraada
We strongly recommend using our backup/restore feature in the future.

Did you format your computer and reinstall PT3 and PostgreSQL already?

Re: Moving database without backing up

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:02 pm
by damien28173
Yeah, I ended up formatting and about to reinstall,
I have all the hands I purchased from PTR but in the end I'll lose about 30k hands alot of them rush, so its ok.

Question thou,
since I reformatted and everything, with the reinstall will it count as my 2nd product key usage?

Re: Moving database without backing up

PostPosted: Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:23 pm
by kraada
Reformatting removed the registration use from the first instance; it'll still be one use of your registration code.